Home                       Citizens Against Ugly Street Spam     

Printer-friendly copy Email this topic to a friend
Top Regional Arizona topic #21
View in linear mode

Subject: "Rock&Baggie Spammer" Previous topic | Next topic
muymulaThu Jul-04-02 05:01 AM
Member since Jan 02nd 2006
11 posts
Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this authorClick to view this author's profileClick to add this author to your buddy list
"Rock&Baggie Spammer"


          

www.wfhtoday.com
wfhtoday@yahoo.com

I was mowing my mom's lawn and lucky for me found these right before I ran over them. Checked the registry info on the website and whoever did it, registered a fake name so no luck there. This was in Chandler....


  

Alert Printer-friendly copy | Reply | Reply with quote | Top

Replies to this topic

remoraThu Jul-04-02 05:35 AM
Charter member
473 posts
Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this authorClick to view this author's profileClick to add this author to your buddy list
#1. "RE: Rock&Baggie Spammer"
In response to Reply # 0


          

LAST EDITED ON 07-04-02 AT 07:42 AM (CDT)

It's a pain, but if you want to go to the trouble, you can file a complaint with the registrar that the domain name was registered with. Basically tell them that you tried to look-up the domain name with WHOIS and saw that the information is bogus. All registrars have a "Terms and Conditions" agreement that stipulates that the WHOIS information must be valid, and the person registering the domain name has to agree to that --- the typical penalty for violating it is a 15-day grace period to get into compliance, otherwise the domain name is cancelled.

In this specific case, the registrar is VeriSign. The registration agreement can be found at http://www.netsol.com/en_US/legal/static-service-agreement.jhtml and wfhtoday.com is in violation of section #4 (ACCURATE INFORMATION) and section #10 (TERMINATION) subsection "b" (By Us) gives them ten calendar days to fix the information or lose the domain name.

Dig into it if you're interested...
--
Remora
Remora@Resourceful.com

remora
--
remora@resourceful.com

  

Alert Printer-friendly copy | Reply | Reply with quote | Top

    
muymulaThu Jul-04-02 10:32 PM
Member since Jan 02nd 2006
11 posts
Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this authorClick to view this author's profileClick to add this author to your buddy list
#2. "RE: Rock&Baggie Spammer"
In response to Reply # 1


          

Thanks! That is wonderfull info. I'm going to dive into it first thing in the morn.
Nick


>LAST EDITED ON 07-04-02
>AT 07:42 AM (CDT)

>
>It's a pain, but if you
>want to go to the
>trouble, you can file a
>complaint with the registrar that
>the domain name was registered
>with. Basically tell them
>that you tried to look-up
>the domain name with WHOIS
>and saw that the information
>is bogus. All registrars
>have a "Terms and Conditions"
>agreement that stipulates that the
>WHOIS information must be valid,
>and the person registering the
>domain name has to agree
>to that --- the typical
>penalty for violating it is
>a 15-day grace period to
>get into compliance, otherwise the
>domain name is cancelled.
>
>In this specific case, the registrar
>is VeriSign. The registration
>agreement can be found at
>http://www.netsol.com/en_US/legal/static-service-agreement.jhtml and wfhtoday.com is in
>violation of section #4 (ACCURATE
>INFORMATION) and section #10 (TERMINATION)
>subsection "b" (By Us) gives
>them ten calendar days to
>fix the information or lose
>the domain name.
>
>Dig into it if you're interested...
>
>--
>Remora
>Remora@Resourceful.com



  

Alert Printer-friendly copy | Reply | Reply with quote | Top

        
remoraFri Jul-05-02 06:11 AM
Charter member
473 posts
Click to send email to this author Click to send private message to this authorClick to view this author's profileClick to add this author to your buddy list
#3. "RE: Rock&Baggie Spammer"
In response to Reply # 2


          

FYI: Be prepared to have to "remind" the registrar to follow-up. Keep track of the date you notified them, and on the 10th day contact them again. Cite their own agreement to them. If the WHOIS information isn't fixed on the 11th day, contact VeriSign and ask them why.

I don't have any prior dealings with VeriSign, but I did have success with register.com some time ago --- they usually took about a week beyond the time limit in their agreement. First they brushed me off with "the email address in WHOIS is correct, that's how we (register.com) contact him," to which I replied "your agreement doesn't say that the domain name holder can pick-and-choose to make some information accurate and some bogus, so please get all the information fixed or cancel the domain name." That argument got the ball rolling, and a couple of weeks later WHOIS had a real name & address in it.

Let us know how well VeriSign handles your complaint.
--
Remora
Remora@Resourceful.com

remora
--
remora@resourceful.com

  

Alert Printer-friendly copy | Reply | Reply with quote | Top

Top Regional Arizona topic #21 Previous topic | Next topic
Powered by DCForum+ Version 1.27
Copyright 1997-2003 DCScripts.com