Home                       Citizens Against Ugly Street Spam     

Printer-friendly copy Email this topic to a friend
Top Announcements & Contact Info. News and Announcements topic #43
View in threaded mode

Subject: "Anti-CAUSS website" Previous topic | Next topic
GreatWhite-BHTue Sep-20-05 08:11 PM
Charter member
2670 posts
Click to send private message to this authorClick to add this author to your buddy list
"Anti-CAUSS website"


          

Ladies and Gentlemen:

An Anti-CAUSS movement is once again targeting CAUSS. Only this time it’s being done through the website of CAUSS dot COM. This website was taken by the cyber squatters long before CAUSS dot org was established. We made a legitimate offer to purchase the web site but the asking price was beyond realistic.

The person establishing the causs dot com website is apparently leasing or renting this site from the owners. It’s highly unlikely that they would have paid the asking price simple to establish an Anti-CAUSS site. With that said, we offer the following information.

They are obtaining certain visible email address, which appear at various places in the open on the CAUSS dot ORG forums. These email addresses are being used to solicit member participation. This in addition to personal profiles that are open to public viewing. Most if not all of the code enforcement officers email addresses are shown on the CE page. This is the amusing part of this latest tirade of this individual; he has no idea that his solicitations are being directed toward the CE’s

For those not associated with CE in some way, we suggest that that you forward the email solicitations to the appropriate Webmaster ISP. For those using AOL, you have special provisions for forwarding. AOL takes this business very serious and will act accordingly. For those emails directed to work email addresses, your Webmaster can easily block the causs dot COM website.

From what we can tell they are using a back door approach to a master website in which there are some questionable activities. We strongly suggest that you treat this as any other “phishing” exercise and not reply to the solicitations. The folks that were duped before managed to get linked to some very nasty porno sites.

Any code enforcement officer or police officer that is getting harassed and has a need for the ID of this person, please send us a request through the “Contact Us” on the CAUSS home page.

GW

  

Alert Printer-friendly copy | Reply | Reply with quote | Top
Top Announcements & Contact Info. News and Announcements topic #43 Previous topic | Next topic
Powered by DCForum+ Version 1.27
Copyright 1997-2003 DCScripts.com